The massive dome of the Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute (St Mary of Health) towers over the old Customs House (Local Name: Dogana di Mare), where ships once stopped to pay their tolls in Venice, Italy.
The Salute, built between 1631 and 1681, is a vast, octagonal building with two domes and a pair of picturesque bell-towers at the back. Built on a platform made of 100,000 wooden piles, it is constructed of Istrian stone and marmorino (brick covered with marble dust). At the apex of the pediment stands a statue of the Virgin Mary who presides over the church which was erected in her honour. The façade is decorated with figures of Saint George, Saint Theodore, the Evangelists, the Prophets, Judith with the head of Holofernes.
The original 14th century watch tower was constructed for the purpose of preventing tax evasion. It was replaced by the present structure in 1690.
Its buttressed square tower supports two bronze Atlases who shoulder a gilded globe on which the Goddess Fortuna, sculpted in the form of an elegant bronze weathervane, holds a gilded sail to the breeze.
A new addition, located at the very tip of Punta della Dogana is Charles Ray’s 8 foot tall white steel sculpture of a boy playing with a frog. Simple called “Boy With Frog”.
The whole of Venice and its Lagoon is designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Two RAW images individually Tonemapped in Photomatix Pro then PhotoMerged in Photoshop Elements 8.
Camera: Canon EOS 450D (Digital Rebel XSi in the USA)
Lens: Sigma 18-200mm
BEST VIEWED LARGER