I am a Contemporary Tasmanian Naive Artist with no formal qualifications in Art, although I have been practicing art all my life, and Art was my best subject in Junior High School. With an Honours Degree in Life Science, an Arts Degree in Philosophy, and a Diploma of Disability, I am interested in many other aspects of life, and these all inform my art. I currently work as a Disability Support Key Coordinator, and am studying for a Bachelor of Dementia Care (BDC).

With a broad repertoire of styles, I have been criticised for being too diverse. Pieces of my work have been called “naive”, “kitsch”, “quirky”, and “crude”. I have also been called a “Naive Master”, and a “Master of My Own Art”. To understand what I do you must understand nothing I do is simple. My early work was quite complex, very conceptual and abstract, and mostly in ink. To see some more of my more abstract ‘squiggle’ works go to https://www.redbubble.com/people/JDLInkwork . I did not take up painting until 2001. Soon after that, I joined the Community Art scene here in Tasmania and commenced exhibiting paintings with a number of groups. At first I was trying to fit in, but soon realised it is more important to be more authentically JDL and express the result of my own interests and influences.

Since I commenced painting, I have had private drawing lessons with Karen Armstrong from Inka. More recently I have made the transition back to a conceptual style of expression – this time in paint. At the recommendation of Corinne Costello, I have been keeping a Conceptual Journal, and this has provided me with lots of material to work with. I am very happy with the result, and relish every opportunity to express my ideas, thoughts, and feeling, in the vibrant color of oils. I thank my teachers, and influencers, for encouraging me, and helping to maintain my naive style. To see a wider slection of my paintings presented as better quality images go to https://www.redbubble.com/people/JDLPaintings (under construction).

I have been a member of the ‘Huon Art Exhibition Group’ (HAEG) since 2003, and have exhibited regularly in our ‘Southern Exposure’ exhibition and ‘Watermark’ competition held on alternating years at Cygnet (now the Huan Art Awards). I have also exhibited at annual exhibitions of the Kingborough Lions Club; Artery ‘Seniors Art Exhibition’ at the Royal Hobart Show; Rotary ‘Art Exhibition’ at Wrest Point Casino; for many years, and Optomeyes Hobart City Mission ‘Art Show’ in the Long Gallery, Salamanca. In 2013 I made my debut in the ‘Overload’ Art Exhibition for Haemochromotosis Awareness, and the Menzies Institute’s ‘Art of Christmas’ exhibition. I exhibited with Overload until 2016, and the Art of Christmas only once.

I get my works framed by Colin at ‘The Picture Gallery’, Derwent Park http://www.picturegallery.net.au/index.html

Since commencing the BDC I have not had much time to paint, or exhibit, so have made the decision to focus on the production of art, rather than exhibiting. My life is so rich! I am also a Mum of two grown up sons, and a Grandma of six under six (including one set of triplets). But I have so many ideas for paintings recorded in my Conceptual Journal, and in my head. As the ancient Philosopher Parmenidies said “Nothing cannot be thought of.”, I reckon “There will never be nothing to paint!” I do sometimes lament lost opportunities to paint. I have great admiration for artists who apply themselves almost completely to art, and make the sacrifices this must necessitate, but that is not me. I always gain great inspiration, and encouragement, by visiting art exhibitions, galleries, and from talking to other artists.

Artists I admire include:-

Betty Nolan (https://nolanart.com.au/shop/artists/betty-nolan)
Bobby-z Lambert (http://tasmaniantimes.com/index.php/article/bob... and https://www.gallerysalamanca.com.au/collections...)
Chen Ping (http://www.chenping.com.au/en/)
Corinne Costello (http://www.corinnecostello.com/cv.html)
Emma Blyth (http://emmablyth.com.au/)
Karen Armstrong (http://www.inkagallery.org.au/artists/karen-arm...)
Katherine Cooper (https://www.gallery247.com.au/katherine-cooper)
Rachel Ireland-Meyers (http://www.rachelirelandmeyersart.blogspot.com.au/)
Sarah Weaver (http://www.weavereye.net/Sarah/exhibitions.php)
Michelle Allen clocks (http://www.allendesignsstudio.com/product-categ...)

Galleries I like to visit in Hobart include:-

Colville Gallery, Salamanca (http://www.colvillegallery.com.au/gallery/curre...
Despard Gallery, Salamanca http://www.despard-gallery.com.au/
Nolan Art Gallery and School, Salamanca http://www.nolanart.com.au/ The ‘Art Mob’, Old Wharf, http://www.artmob.com.au/
Inka Galler’, Salamanca http://www.inkagallery.org.au/

I think ‘MONA’ http://mona.net.au/ is awesome. Tasmania is so lucky to have this artistic establishment!

To see some examples of my bags and scarfs, as produced by redbubble, visit Karina at Shiver Me Timbers, Salamanca, Hobart, Tasmania http://shivermetimberstas.com.au/

Updated 21/12/18

  • Joined: May 2008

Recently Added

desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait