The Four Senses

The traditional five senses are: sight, hearing, touch, smell, and taste. A classification attributed to dear old Aristotle.

As some of you know, my family has been on a journey to diagnose, understand and treat my daughter’s hearing loss.

We recently came to understand that my daughter has a progressive hearing condition that will likely leave her deaf at an undeterminable point in the future. Trauma as simple as a soccer ball to the head could take her hearing down a step – or cause it to drop out completely. Here’s "an ongoing conversation ": about her condition.

Thank goodness there are Cochlear Implants as a treatment for complete deafness, but we’re hoping to never reach that point. For now, my five year-old is sporting bright red hearing aids underneath her tangerine locks.

I just wanted to take a quick moment to thank everyone for their support via Bubblemail, email and Twitter. Sometimes this art community is simply a community; and sometimes it takes a village to keep you going.

Here are few ear t-shirts on RedBubble that inspired both thought and a chuckle or two.

Ear (Light) T-Shirt by alienredwolf

ear creations T-Shirt by regina

Evolution of Spock – Star Trek T-Shirt by Adam de la Mare

More ear images: Ear T-shirtsand another view of Ear T-shirts

The world’s best daughter … my POV

Journal Comments

  • Varry
  • Mel Brackstone
  • daisyzsn
  • mindym306
  • alienredwolf
  • Karin Taylor
  • Jason Michaels
  • Karin Taylor
  • itsallgoodamanda
  • Jason Michaels