Underwater Photographer's Guild

A space for underwater photographers to exhibit and share their best works

Underwater Profile: Stephen Colquitt

Stephen Colquitt Stephen Colquitt 228 posts

1. How long have you been doing underwater photography?

I have been doing underwater photography as a hobby for about 5 years now. I have always had an interest in photography since I was young, but unfortunately limited funds kept me out of the game for a long time. I was lucky that a friend loaned me an old underwater (Nikonos V) for a little while. After that I was hooked. I just wish I had more time to spend doing it.

2. Tell us a little about why you took up underwater photography?

I have been SCUBA diving since I was 14 (so thats about 17 years). I have always have a fascination with underwater life and spent a lot of time snorkelling, spear fishing, and diving for crayfish when I was at university. My murderous ways have abated in the past 10 years and now I only tend to hunt underwater creatures to capture images of them and show people about the wonderful marine life that exists around the world. I love travelling too and underwater photography tends to take me to wonderful places.

3. What equipment do you use?

I currently use a Nikon D200 DSLR, in an aquatica housing. I also use Sea and Sea YS110 strobes.

4. What is your favourite underwater image that you have taken and why?

It took me 14 dives in Raja Ampat to find a pygmy seahorse. When I did finally find one ended up being one of the most difficult technical photographic challenges I have ever come across. Deep water (30m) and difficult boyancy, and it was so small (seahorse was only about 10-15mm long)

5. What is your favourite subject to take photos of?

I love both big and small things. Once upon a time I would have said nudibranchs, but I really enjoyed taking pictures of the giant potato cod on the Great Barrier Reef.

It reminded me of the family labrador.