Art of the Middle East

Photographs, artwork, journals, clothing and writing concerning the cultures, traditions, places and events in the Middle East.

An interview with Mike De Lange

Eyal Nahmias Eyal Nahmias 277 posts

: Mike de Lange is the winner of our Markets challenge with his Damascus Souk #0101 image

I asked Mike a few questions about his history, background, connection to photography and his views. Please visit his portfolio, get to know him, and give him your support. Mike Image is featured in the group front page, and he earned a spot as a featured photographer / artist

• Tell us about yourself, some history, education, family, hobbies, work, etc.

Well, to start with, I was born in 1968, and brought up South Africa, and following 12 years of schooling and 2 years of “National Service” in the Infantry, I obtained a B.Architecture degree in 1994. I’ve been a practicing architect ever since. A temporary 14 month project contract brought me to Dubai in January 2002, which turned into a more permanent opportunity whereby I’m now a partner owner in a Dubai based international architecture firm. Hobbies – really only one – photography consumes me completely when not doing my day-job or spending time with my family.

• When did you first become interested in art / photography. How would you define your own art? How did your art evolve?