Rhyolite Ghost Town, Nevada
Near Beatty, Nevada
The stark early morning light and minimal color in the high desert lent itself to a B&W expression. This is one of the last remaining ruins and perhaps the most iconic in the western deserts.
Nikon D3X ,Nikkor 28-70mm f/2.8 ED-IF AF-S
1/320s @ f/8.0, 31.0mm ISO 320
The three-story John S Cook & Company Building, located on the southwest corner of Golden and Broadway (Ramsey Corner) Streets, was constructed in 1907. Construction was done under contract by George Holesworth. The building was made of reinforced concrete with walls 26 to 36 inches thick. It boasted a stairway made of Italian marble; windows of stained glass from Italy; and baseboards of Honduras mahogany. The safe’s inside vault weighed 6,600 pounds and could hold a million dollars in coin. The reported cost of the building is $90,000. The John S Cook Bank Building was completed and opened for business in January, 1908. It was built to house the J S Cook banking corporation, which was shortly absorbed by the First National Bank of Rhyolite, Nevada. The post office moved into the basement in 1908; the First National Bank of Rhyolite, Nevada occupied the first floor; and brokers’ offices utilized most of the second and third floors.