25% off Hoodies and Sweatshirts. 20% off everything else. Use MANICMON

Meet Me Under The Clocks

TonyCrehan

Hobart, Australia

  • Available
    Products
    9
  • Artist
    Notes
  • Artwork Comments 41

Wall Art

Home Decor

Bags

Stationery

Artist's Description

223 views at 21 October 2012.

Featured in The Best of Everything and Anything http://www.redbubble.com/groups/around-the-house Group on 07/17/12

Featured in Hidden Talent http://www.redbubble.com/groups/hidden-talent Group on 07/17/12

Featured in Artists Universe http://www.redbubble.com/groups/artists-universe Group on 08/02/12

Featured in Everything Old A New Treasure http://www.redbubble.com/groups/everything-old-is-new-again Group on 09/01/12

Featured in Light Up My Life http://www.redbubble.com/groups/lamps Group on 09/30/12

Featured in Australian Capital Cities http://www.redbubble.com/groups/australian-capital-cities Group on 11/18/12

Featured in Rainbow http://www.redbubble.com/groups/rainbow Group on 12/09/12

Featured in Absolute Clarity http://www.redbubble.com/groups/absolute-clarity Group on 12/24/12

Challenge Winner in South East Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/south-east-australia/challenges/49376-something-heritage-listed-and-lit-up Challenge

Taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FH1 point & shoot in October 2010.

Melbourne’s Flinders Street Railway Station at the corner of Flinders and Swanston Streets is the oldest station in Australia (1910) although the first station on this site opened in 1854.

Over the years, Flinders Street Station has become a famous Melbourne landmark, emerging as a symbol of Victoria’s capital city and is an institution in the daily routine of nearly a quarter of a million people.

Flinders Street Station is ‘the’ meeting place for Melburnians, expressed simply as “meet me under the clocks”, a reference to the clocks above the main entrance.

The clocks at the main entrance of the station were part of the original design plans, and remain in almost the same place as they did in the early years of construction. The 13 clocks are now operated by computer and indicate train departures to suburban lines. An attempt was once made to replace them with video screens, but the outcry was enormous and therefore they have remained.

Flinders Street Station is registered under the Victorian Heritage Act. It is also listed by the National Trust.

Artwork Comments

  • Dlouise
  • TonyCrehan
  • David Davies
  • TonyCrehan
  • Caitlin Dickman
  • TonyCrehan
  • Audrey Clarke
  • TonyCrehan
  • Jane Brack
  • TonyCrehan
  • EdsMum
  • TonyCrehan
  • David Rozansky
  • rocamiadesign
  • Sandra Moore
  • TonyCrehan
  • Yannik Hay
  • TonyCrehan
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait

10% off

for joining the Redbubble mailing list

Receive exclusive deals and awesome artist news and content right to your inbox. Free for your convenience.