Lavender Contours - Bridestowe Estate, Tasmania

TonyCrehan

Hobart, Australia

Artist's Description

31 Features at 20 October 2014

84 Favourites at 23 September 2014

3101 views at 19 September 2014

Featured in Beautiful http://www.redbubble.com/groups/beautiful Group on 12/31/11

Featured in Scenery http://www.redbubble.com/groups/scenery Group on 01/01/12

Featured in Along the Rural Road http://www.redbubble.com/groups/along-the-rural-road Group on 01/01/12

Featured in Around the World http://www.redbubble.com/groups/las-vegas Group 0n 01/02/12

Featured in Down on the Farm http://www.redbubble.com/groups/down-on-the-farm Group on 01/02/12

Featured in redbubble Explore http://www.redbubble.com/explore/featured+photography on 01/04/12

Featured in Love & Hugs 4 All http://www.redbubble.com/groups/love-and-hugs-for-all Group on 01/06/12

Featured in Alphabet Soup http://www.redbubble.com/groups/alphabet-soup Group on 01/22/12

Featured in Pentax http://www.redbubble.com/groups/pentax Group on 01/29/12

Featured in Rainbow – Purple http://www.redbubble.com/groups/rainbow Group on 02/18/12

Featured in Serenity http://www.redbubble.com/groups/serinity Group on 03/18/12

Featured in Deez 5Cs http://www.redbubble.com/groups/deez-5cs-awards-showcase Group on 04/08/12

Featured in Superbly Visual http://www.redbubble.com/groups/superbly-visual Group on 04/21/12

Featured in Color Me A Rainbow http://www.redbubble.com/groups/color-me-a-rainbow Group on 04/24/12

Featured in Top Favourites http://www.redbubble.com/groups/the-top-favorite-group Group on 05/02/12

Featured in 4 Winners Only http://www.redbubble.com/groups/4-winners-only Group on 05/31/12

Featured in South Eastern Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/south-east-australia Group on 06/01/12

Featured in Featured for a Challenge http://www.redbubble.com/groups/featured-for-a-challenge Group on 06/23/12

Featured in Quality Art and Photography http://www.redbubble.com/groups/1-art-and-photography Group on 07/04/12

Featured in Lovely Lavender http://www.redbubble.com/groups/lovely-lavender Group on 10/18/12

Featured in Alphabet Soup http://www.redbubble.com/groups/alphabet-soup Group on 12/17/13

Featured in The World As We See It http://www.redbubble.com/groups/the-world-as-we-see-it-or-as-we-missed-it Group on 07/13/14

Featured in Destination Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/destination-australia Group on 08/03/14

Featured in Country Roads and Country Views http://www.redbubble.com/groups/country-roads Group on 09/20/14

Featured in Zingers http://www.redbubble.com/groups/zingers Group on 09/20/14

Featured in Where On Earth Is This http://www.redbubble.com/groups/what-on-earth-is-this Group on 09/20/14

Featured in From the Earth http://www.redbubble.com/groups/from-the-earth Group on 09/21/14

Featured in 60 and beyond http://www.redbubble.com/groups/60-and-beyond Group on 09/21/14

Featured in Superbly Visual http://www.redbubble.com/groups/superbly-visual Group on 09/22/14

Featured in Visual Texture http://www.redbubble.com/groups/visual-texture Group on 10/01/14

Featured in Crops and Harvests http://www.redbubble.com/groups/crops-and-harvests Group on 10/19/14

Featured in Perfect Harmonies http://www.redbubble.com/groups/perfect-harmonies Group on 12/05/14

Featured in Globes, Spheres and Curves http://www.redbubble.com/groups/globes-spheres-art-photography Group on 12/23/14

Featured in A Photographer’s Craft http://www.redbubble.com/groups/a-photographers-craft Group in Top pic of 2014 on 12/26/14

Challenge Winner in All Glorious Gardens http://www.redbubble.com/groups/all-glorious-gardens/challenges/47173-the-forced-perspective-view Challenge

Challenge Winner in First Things http://www.redbubble.com/groups/first-things/challenges/47750-pink-to-purple Challenge

Challenge joint winner in South East Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/south-east-australia/challenges/52408-your-best-image#all-entries Challenge

Challenge joint winner in Lovely Lavender http://www.redbubble.com/groups/lovely-lavender/challenges/52611-avatar-challenge-lovely-lavender-group Avatar Challenge

Challenge joint winner in Tasmania http://www.redbubble.com/groups/tasmanian-art-writing-photograhy/forums/4945/topics/346619-flora-challenge?page=1#post_2327233 Challenge in November 2013

Challenge Winner in Absolute Clarity http://www.redbubble.com/groups/absolute-clarity/challenges/58065-something-starting-with-the-letter-l Challenge in February 2014

Contoured rows of Lavender at the Bridestowe Estate, Northern Tasmania, Australia. Contouring assists with moisture distribution, soil retention and drainage. The farm has an estimated 650,000 plants and total row length of 200km.

C. K. Denny, a highly skilled London perfumer, and his family arrived in Tasmania in 1921. In 1922 lavender seeds from the French Alps were planted at North Lilydale, not far from the present site. Such was the specialised and demanding nature of the project that it took 43 years before the Estate’s management was satisfied that problems of economic efficiency and rigorous quality control had been solved.

Nowadays, Bridestowe Estate is internationally renowned for its technical and botanical research. Years of selection and continuous improvement have been rewarded with the finest strains of the true French Lavender (Lavandula angustifolia). Pure lavender oil from the Estate’s distillery is now exported worldwide and is highly prized by leading perfume houses and aromatherapists alike.

Mr and Mrs C K Denny arrived from England with their two young sons, great plans and a bag of lavender seeds to settle at North Lilydale, some 17 kms from the present site, in 1921. The Lavender plantation they established was named Bridestowe, after Mrs Denny’s birthplace in Devon, England. The seeds were of the true French perfumery lavender, Lavandula angustifolia, which occurs naturally at high altitudes in a small area of the Southern French Alps.

World production of the true lavender oil is relatively small and is in high demand by leading perfumery, skincare and aromatherapy product manufacturers. This area of Tasmania was selected by the Denny family because of the similarities of climate, red soil and altitude to the most productive true lavender producing areas of Southern France. There were no local lavenders to cross-pollinate and corrupt the true lavender.

In 1924, a small quarter acre planting provided enough flowers for a test distillation of the oil. A sample was sent to London where it was pronounced “completely camphor free” and at least equal to good quality French oil. The Dennys then began a lifetime of plant selection from their original seed stock to isolate and cultivate those plants, which optimised both quality and yield. They enlarged their plantings and in 1947 moved their main operations to the present Nabowla site under the management of C K Denny’s two sons Tim and Jock. The Lilydale farm closed in the 1970’s. Bridestowe has been growing Lavender for nearly 90 years with 60 years at Nabowla.

Mr Tim Denny continued to manage the Estate until 1989 when he retired to continue with consultancy in essential oil distillation. After many years, and several corporate owners, Bridestowe Estate was purchased by Robert and Jennifer Ravens in February 2007. The Ravens family remains committed to maintaining the enduring legacy and quality of product from the Estate.

(Source: bridestowelavender.com.au )

Taken with Pentax k-r on 29 December 2011 at Nabowla, Tasmania.
Lens Pentax-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6
ISO 400
55.0mm
0 EV
f/11
1/200 sec.
RAW
Hand held

Artwork Comments

  • Qnita
  • TonyCrehan
  • Catherine Hamilton-Veal  ©
  • TonyCrehan
  • czanti
  • TonyCrehan
  • Sue Knowles
  • TonyCrehan
  • Janone
  • TonyCrehan
  • gail woodbury
  • TonyCrehan
  • waxyfrog
  • TonyCrehan
  • George Petrovsky
  • TonyCrehan
  • supergold
  • TonyCrehan
  • Phil Thomson IPA
  • TonyCrehan
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait

10%off for joining

the Redbubble mailing list

Receive exclusive deals and awesome artist news and content right to your inbox. Free for your convenience.