The Pot Calling The Kettle Black

TonyCrehan

Hobart, Australia

  • Available
    Products
    17
  • Artist
    Notes
  • Artwork Comments 92

Cases & Skins

Wall Art

Home Decor

Bags

Stationery

Artist's Description

7303 views at 11 April 2016

The Pot Calling the Kettle Black and “as for those two rusty old pans I wouldn’t be seen dead on a tree stump with them!”

More 19th Century memorabilia in the Rogers Pioneer Cottage at Churchill Island, Victoria, this time in the kitchen.

John Rogers arrived in Sydney from Cornwell England in 1838 and after trying his hand during the Gold Rush returned to the Western Port region. He became the legal owner of Churchill Island on January 15th 1866 for the sum of two hundred and ten pounds. He lived here with his wife Sarah and their three children two of whom were born here. Rogers first built a cottage for his family and later another adjoining the first. The fact that these two cottages still stand today is a testament to his building skills and hard work.

Taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FH1 point & shoot in January 2011.

Featured 02/08/11 in Rural Around The Globe http://www.redbubble.com/rural-america-art-photography-writing Group

Featured 02/12/11 in Down on the Farm http://www.redbubble.com/groups/down-on-the-farm Group

Featured 02/13/11 in Nostalgic Art and Photography http://www.redbubble.com/nostalgic-art-and-photography Group

Featured 03/19/11 in Alphabet Soup http://www.redbubble.com/groups/alphabet-soup Group

Featured 03/19/11 in Country Bumpkin http://www.redbubble.com/groups/country-bumpkin Group

Featured 07/09/11 in The Compact Group http://www.redbubble.com/groups/the-compact-group-1-per-day Group

Featured 09/17/11 in Alphabet Soup http://www.redbubble.com/groups/alphabet-soup Group

Featured 11/21/11 in Featured for a Challenge http://www.redbubble.com/groups/featured-for-a-challenge Group

Featured 02/20/12 in Color Me A Rainbow http://www.redbubble.com/groups/color-me-a-rainbow Group

Featured in Rainbow http://www.redbubble.com/groups/rainbow Group on 04/01/12

Featured in Old Farts of RedBubble http://www.redbubble.com/groups/old-farts-of-redbubble Group on 12/04/13

Featured in Rusty, Crusty and Falling to Bits http://www.redbubble.com/groups/rusty-crusty-and-falling-to-bits Group 0n 12/04/13

Featured in Melbourne and Victoria http://www.redbubble.com/groups/melbourne-art-writing Group on 10/28/14

Artwork Comments

  • dedmanshootn
  • TonyCrehan
  • David Davies
  • TonyCrehan
  • lindaMakiej
  • TonyCrehan
  • Shane Viper
  • TonyCrehan
  • Evita
  • TonyCrehan
  • Kim McClain Gregal
  • TonyCrehan
  • Sharksladie
  • TonyCrehan
  • vigor
  • TonyCrehan
  • aussiedi
  • TonyCrehan
  • Charmiene Maxwell-Batten
  • TonyCrehan
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait

10% off

for joining the Redbubble mailing list

Receive exclusive deals and awesome artist news and content right to your inbox. Free for your convenience.