23 Features at 26 February 2014

68 Favouritings at 25 November 2014

Dedicated to our world and its natural beauty

Aerial shot of Lake Eyre taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FH1 point & shoot from cabin of Boeing 737 flying at altitude of approximately 11,000 metres in November 2010.

5097 views as at 2nd September 2014.

Featured 04/06/11 on RB Home Page in Birds Eye View Group features http://www.redbubble.com/people/home/art/6985128-birds-eye-view-6-april-2011

Featured 11/26/10 in Your Magic Place http://www.redbubble.com/groups/your-magic-places Group

Featured 12/01/10 in From The Cockpit http://www.redbubble.com/groups/from-the-cockpit Group

Featured 02/05/11 in Alphabet Soup http://www.redbubble.com/groups/alphabet-soup Group

Featured 08/17/11 in Elite Images http://www.redbubble.com/groups/elite-images Group

Featured 09/25/11 in Australia at Large http://www.redbubble.com/groups/australia-at-large Group

Featured 11/22/11 in Your Country’s Best http://www.redbubble.com/groups/happy-haven Group

Featured 11/24/11 in Nature’s Paintbrush http://www.redbubble.com/groups/natures-paintbrush Group

Featured 11/25/11 in Seasons Change http://www.redbubble.com/groups/spring-glorious-spring Group

Featured 12/03/11 in National Parks of Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/national-parks-of-australia Group

Featured 12/26/11 in Volcanoes http://www.redbubble.com/groups/volcanos-earths-geology-and-atmosphere Group

Featured 01/08/12 in Featured for a Challenge http://www.redbubble.com/groups/featured-for-a-challenge Group

Featured 01/21/12 in A Little Bit Country http://www.redbubble.com/groups/a-little-bit-country Group

Featured 02/21/12 in All About Water http://www.redbubble.com/groups/all-about-water Group

Featured 02/29/12 in Australiana Challenges http://www.redbubble.com/groups/australiana-challenges Group

Featured in Superbly Visual http://www.redbubble.com/groups/superbly-visual Group on 04/21/12

Featured in Destination Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/destination-australia Group on 07/08/12

Featured in Art For Sale http://www.redbubble.com/groups/featured-writers Group on 07/20/12

Featured in Destination Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/destination-australia Group on 11/26/12

Featured in Amateur Photographers Association http://www.redbubble.com/groups/amateur-photographers-association Group on 02/13/13

Featured in The World http://www.redbubble.com/groups/the-world Group on 02/22/13

Featured in Destination Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/destination-australia Group on 02/23/14

Featured in The Addicted Photographer http://www.redbubble.com/groups/the-addicted-photographer Group on 02/26/14

Featured in Wild Oz http://www.redbubble.com/groups/wild-oz Group on 04/05/14

Featured in Airplanes and Airports http://www.redbubble.com/groups/airplanes-and-airports Group on 07/06/14

Winner of #1 Favourites http://www.redbubble.com/groups/amazing-landscape-winners/challenges/47239-aerial-photography#all-entries Challenge on 07/16/12

Winner of Destination Australia http://www.redbubble.com/groups/destination-australia/challenges/50828-australia-from-above Challenge on 11/26/12

It has been a bumper tourist season in Australia’s outback, with widespread rains transforming the country into a sea of flowers, grasses and inland waterways. For the second year in a row, thousands of people have made the pilgrimage to the nation’s largest lake, Lake Eyre, filled by flooding rains from Queensland after being dry for the previous 9 years. Although water is still flowing, it is fast turning back into a salt pan and could be dry within a month.

On a global scale, the Lake Eyre Basin: is one of the largest internally draining systems; has the fifth largest terminal lake; is an arid and semi-arid part of the driest inhabited continent; and is drained by the most variable, major river systems, the Georgina, Diamantina and Cooper.

Other rivers draining the more than a million square kilometres of the Basin either contribute to Lake Eyre only rarely, or in the case of some Central Australian streams, become lost in the sands of the Simpson Desert and never reach the lake.

Lake Eyre National Park was proclaimed in 1985 and covers an area of 13 523 sq kilometres, including Lake Eyre and several other salt lakes, some of which are heritage listed for their rare tertiary vertebrate fossils.

All Products

lakes, outback, desert, country, australia

Currently working with independent schools in Tasmania

All work in this portfolio is © tony crehan
These materials (images and poems) may NOT be edited, copied, reproduced, printed, distributed, displayed, performed, or used in any way, in whole or in part, without my written permission. Please respect copyright and do not save or upload any images or poems to Photobucket, Flickr, Myspace, Facebook etc. These creative materials are NOT public domain.

View Full Profile

Comments

  • Clive
    Cliveabout 4 years ago

    A spectacular capture Tony, love the magnificent colours in this a fave for sute my friend

  • Thanks for the fave Clive and your comments are much appreciated. Tony

    – TonyCrehan

  • jaffa
    jaffaabout 4 years ago

    wow, great shot, great info, beautiful colours.

  • Thanks for your generous comments. Tony

    – TonyCrehan

  • sarnia2
    sarnia2about 4 years ago

  • Thanks Sarnia

    – TonyCrehan

  • naturelover
    natureloverabout 4 years ago

    Awesome colours and view – outstanding photography Tony!!

  • Thanks for the fave Pauline and your lovely comments. Lucky to be sat on the right side of the plane. Tony

    – TonyCrehan

  • NatureGreeting Cards ©ccwri
    NatureGreeting...about 4 years ago

    beautiful!!

  • Glad you like the view. Thanks for your comment. Tony

    – TonyCrehan

  • Bramley1
    Bramley1about 4 years ago

    Amazing colours!! What a view!!

  • It is a great view. Thanks forvyour comment Bri. Tony:)

    – TonyCrehan

  • AndreaEL
    AndreaELabout 4 years ago

  • Thanks Andrea

    – TonyCrehan

  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillarabout 4 years ago

  • Thank you for the feature Kasia. I was excited to capture this view and thrilled for it to be featured. Tony

    – TonyCrehan

  • Audrey Clarke
    Audrey Clarkeabout 4 years ago

  • Thanks Audrey

    – TonyCrehan

  • jesskato
    jesskatoabout 4 years ago

    Makes me want to go there…

  • Me too. I have never been close to it on the ground. Thanks for viewing. Tony

    – TonyCrehan

desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait

10%off for joining

the Redbubble mailing list

Receive exclusive deals and awesome artist news and content right to your inbox. Free for your convenience.