The Great Australian Clock at QVB

TonyCrehan

Hobart, Australia

Artist's Description

Taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-FH1 point & shoot.

508 views as at 23 December 2011.

Featured 10/10/10 in Lumix Lovers http://www.redbubble.com/groups/lumix-lovers Group

Featured 10/19/10 in Historic Places http://www.redbubble.com/groups/historic-places Group

Featured 10/24/10 in City Life is the Only Life http://www.redbubble.com/groups/city-life-is-the-only-life Group

Featured 10/30/10 in Alphabet Soup http://www.redbubble.com/groups/alphabet-soup Group

Featured 03/16/11 in Time to Watch Clocks http://www.redbubble.com/groups/time-to-watch-clocks Group

Featured 06/15/11 in Australian Capital Cities http://www.redbubble.com/groups/australian-capital-cities Group

Featured 02/01/12 in Globes, Spheres and Curves http://www.redbubble.com/groups/globes-spheres-art-photography Group

Featured in Postcard Style http://www.redbubble.com/groups/postcard-style Group on 02/16/12

Featured in High Quality Images http://www.redbubble.com/groups/complex-simplicity Group on 03/08/12

Featured in Featured For A Challenge http://www.redbubble.com/groups/featured-for-a-challenge Group on 03/20/12

Featured in Superbly Visual http://www.redbubble.com/groups/superbly-visual Group on 04/21/12

Top Ten in A Little Bit of Everything http://www.redbubble.com/groups/a-little-bit-of-everything/challenges/34198-time-clocks-and-watches Challenge

The historic Queen Victoria Building in Sydney contains two mechanical clocks. This is the Great Australian Clock, designed and made by Chris Cook, which weighs four tonnes and stands ten metres tall. It includes 33 scenes from Australian history, seen from both Aboriginal and European perspectives. An Aboriginal hunter circles the exterior of the clock continuously, representing the never-ending passage of time.
The Queen Victoria Building is an outstanding example of the grand retail buildings from the Victorian-Federation era in Australia, which has no known equal in Australia in its architectural style, scale, level of detailing and craftsmanship. Saved from demolition in the 1980s, and restored to its original glory, the Queen Victoria Building is an iconic State heritage listed building of Sydney and Australia.

Artwork Comments

  • myrbpix
  • TonyCrehan
  • Yannik Hay
  • TonyCrehan
  • Wendi Donaldson Laird
  • TonyCrehan
  • bettywiley
  • TonyCrehan
  • CraigsMom
  • TonyCrehan
  • Sean Farragher
  • TonyCrehan
  • Lucinda Walter
  • TonyCrehan
  • TheWalkerTouch
  • Warren  Patten
  • TonyCrehan
  • Elaine123
  • TonyCrehan
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait

10%off for joining

the Redbubble mailing list

Receive exclusive deals and awesome artist news and content right to your inbox. Free for your convenience.