The ruin of Carriden Old Church at Carriden, Bon’ess, Falkirk District, Scotland.
Carriden Old Church was built in 1766 to replace the medieval church adjacent to Carriden House. It is T-shaped in plan and finished in simple Georgian style. An aedicule was attached to the north side of the building in 1771 to protect the monument to Sir William Maxwell of Carriden. A tower with a spire and a session house were added around 1840.
When the new church was opened in 1909 the roof was taken off the old one and it is now a picturesque ruin.
Camera: Canon EOS 450D (Digital Rebel XSi in the USA)
BEST VIEWED LARGER
Three bracketed JPGs converted to HDR in Photomatix.