Lord’s Mount is an artillery bulwark built between 1541 and 1543 at the north-east angle of Berwick’s medieval town walls. It is massive circular fortification with walls 6 metres (19.5 feet) thick. The lower floor survives with six casemates for long swivel guns and living accommodation, which included a kitchen with a well and oven, and a latrine. The upper floor, containing the captain’s apartments, and an upper gun deck for six large guns, were demolished when the Elizabethan defences were begun in 1558.
Berwick-upon-Tweed (pronunciation: berɪk), on the east coast at the mouth of the River Tweed is situated 2.5 miles (4 km) south of the Scottish border and forms part of the wider Borough of Berwick-upon-Tweed local government district.
Being central to a border war between the Kingdoms of Scotland and England since the 11th century, the town has lain within England since 1482. However, Berwick has strong cultural links with Scotland. Berwick remains, though, a traditional market town at heart. The town also boasts some notable architectural features, in particular the defence ramparts and the barrack buildings.
Three bracketed JPGs converted to HDR in Photomatix.
BEST VIEWED LARGER