The tower of Carriden Church seen through one of the windows of the ruin of Carriden Old Church.
The Church and ruin are at Carriden, Bon’ess, Falkirk District, Scotland.
Carriden Old Church was built in 1766 to replace the medieval church adjacent to Carriden House. It is T-shaped in plan and finished in simple Georgian style. An aedicule was attached to the north side of the building in 1771 to protect the monument to Sir William Maxwell of Carriden. A tower with a spire and a session house were added around 1840.
When the new church was opened in 1909 the roof was taken off the old one and it is now a picturesque ruin.
Three bracketed JPGs converted to HDR in Photomatix.
BEST VIEWED LARGER
Related shots can be found at: Lowland Scotland.