Unveiled on 18th May 2012 by First Minister Alex Salmond, the 7ft bronze monument on the Promenade at South Queensferry, Scotland, in front of the Forth Bridge, honours the workmen who died while building the bridge. The stone base of the monument is engraved with the words:
“To the Briggers, past and present, who built, restored and continue to maintain this iconic structure.”
Begun in 1883, the bridge was opened on 4 March 1890. Official figures from the time quote the number of fatalities during construction is 57, however, the death toll is now accepted as being much higher than this. The monument names the 73 men and boys that are known about, however, it is believed that there are more, as yet, undiscovered names.
An identical monument is sited on the other side of the River Forth at North Queensferry.
The Forth Bridge is an Historic Scotland Category A Listed structure. HB Number 40370.
Three bracketed RAWs Tonemapped in Photomatix Pro 4.2.6.
Camera: Sony NEX-7
Lens: Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 Di III VC
BEST VIEWED LARGER
Featured in : Preserving History : 26 Apr 13
Featured in : PostCards-Destinations : 27 Apr 13
Featured in : BITS & PIECES : 28 Apr 13
Related shots can be found at: Queensferry, Lowland Scotland, Bridges and HDR.