Luna Park (Sydney) is an amusement park situated on the gorgeous Sydney Harbour, overlooking the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. Opened in 1935, Luna Park is an iconic part of Sydney for residents and visitors alike.
From 1924 – 1932 the Luna Park site was occupied by Harbour Bridge workers. They built two large workshops and a wharf on the site to assist in the Bridge’s construction. Following the conclusion of the construction the New South Wales Government rendered the site to be used as a recreational area.
The park was constructed in just over 3 months, following the hard work of 800 structural workers, 70 electricians and 35 artists, among many others! Luna Park, Sydney opened at 8.00pm on 4 October, 1935. The park was an immediate success and the admission charge was abolished after the first year!
The park remained open during the war years, however, the lights were “browned out”. Luna Park became a hugely popular stomping ground for Servicemen, both American and Australian. The park closed every winter, providing the opportunity to renovate, repair and add new attractions. Unfortunately, a tragic fire in 1979 in the Ghost train ride caused Luna Park to close down completely.
In the years that followed, the park changed hands a number of times, was threatened with demolishment, re-opened and closed until finally in 1990 the Government passed the Luna Park Site Act, which protected the land. A Luna Park Reserve Trust was established and took control of the park in October 1990. Major restoration of the park and all of its buildings commenced in 1992.
This shot was taken using a Nikon D300, nikon 18-20mm lens and processed using Photomatix
For visitors to Sydney Luna Park can be reached via a regular ferry service from Circular Quay