This remote and charming upland church has had a stormy history since it was built in the 12th century.
Cruciform, until its south transept was demolished in 1670, it has several times over the centuries been declared ’ruinous’ and then repaired; now it is again in good order and cherished.
Inside, its two bells (c1380 and 1627) suspended above the west end below the bell turret are a curiosity. The 12th century Purbeck marble font and 16th century wooden screen are notable and there are fine memorials in the nave.
There is also a fine east window (1876) . Courtesy of The churches conservation trust.
Colemore ,East Hampshire UK.
Nikon D5100 18-55mm Vr lens,Tripod.