A bridge at Orford Ness Island, Suffolk, UK, leading onto the main site where bombs were tested.
Nikon D60 with Sigma 10-20 zoom.
Orford Ness Island is a site of Special Scientific Interest, a grade 1 site in the Nature Conservation Review run by The National Trust. It is a 16km long shingle spit, that is now a wildlife reserve. A large part of The Ness was acquired by The War Department in 1913. The Central Flying School’s Experimental Flying Section was based here in 1915 which began a 70 year period of intense military experimentation leaving scars on the landscape as well as giving the island a mystique of secrecy.
Radar was developed here from 1935 until 1937 and later the development of the atomic bomb was
carried out on this site during the 1950’s, one of only a few places in the world used for such experiments.
It is now open to the public, but there are specifically marked trails due to the danger of unexploded ordnance still being present.
It is a great place for photography with a very unusual mixture of buildings and a fascinating history, as well as some diverse wildlife.