The Water Mill at Sturminster Newton Dorset
Sturminster Newton Mill is one of a series of ancient flour mills built on the River Stour. It is in a picturesque setting on the south bank approximately 300 yards upstream of a fine mediaeval six-arched bridge. Although it is thought that there may have been a mill on this site in Saxon times, the first record is contained in the Domesday Book of 1086, which mentions four mills in the Sturminster area. The present L-shaped building consists of south and north wings. The south wing, which sits firmly on the river bank, was last re-built c.1650 on a centuries old site. The north wing, which juts out into the river, was originally a completely separate fulling mill built in 1611. It was demolished in the late 18th century and re-built in brick on its original stone base to join with and extend the grain mill. Until the turn of the 20th century Sturminster Newton mill was powered by a pair of undershot water wheels working side by side which drove four sets of stones. The last pair of water wheels, fitted by William Munden of Ringwood in 1849, were capable of a combined output of 12 horse power. In 1904 the mill was upgraded and the two water wheels were replaced with a single water turbine
22 Favs June 2013.
Best Viewed LARGE
Taken with a Canon EOS 550D DSLR
Featured in May 2013