Point & shoot Panasonic DMC-Z57
1x Greeting Card of “King’s Chapel, Boston MA”
Card Style: 4″ × 6″ Greeting Card
Feb 12, 2011
King’s Chapel was founded by Royal Governor Sir Edmund Andros in 1686 as the first Anglican Church in New England during the reign of King James II. The original King’s Chapel was a wooden church built in 1688 at the corner of Tremont and School Streets, where the church stands today. It was situated on the public burying ground because no resident would sell land for a non-Puritan church.
1688 King’s Chapel building (demolished)
In 1749, construction began on the current stone structure, which was designed by Peter Harrison and completed in 1754. The stone church was built around the wooden church. When the stone church was complete, the wooden church was disassembled and removed through the windows of the new church. The wood was then shipped to Lunenburg, Nova Scotia where it was used to construct St. John’s Anglican Church. That church was destroyed by fire on Halloween night, 2001. It has since been rebuilt.
29 MAR, 2012 FEATURE IN EXPLORE