Shop

15% OFF EVERYTHING! USE CODE GET15

Underground Cistern, Istanbul Turkey by Barbara  Brown
Clear

Currently unavailable for purchase

Available to buy on…

Underground Cistern, Istanbul Turkey by 


This underground cistern dates back to the 6th century AD where it held water transported through pipes from 12 miles away. It eventually fll into disuse and was forgotten. For readers of Dan Brown novels, the cistern figures prominently in his newest book and was also featured in the James Bond movie, From Russia with Love. It covers an area of about 2 football fields with 336 columns supporting the brick ceiling.

Canon 60D

Tags

cistern, underground, istanbul, turkey, water, accent, old, dark, columns, brick ceiling

Barbara Brown is a mental health professional and an avid photographer. She lives in northern California and enjoys nature and all types of photography.

View Full Profile

Comments

  • lorilee
    lorilee10 months ago

    Beautiful!!

  • Thank you Lorilee!

    – Barbara Brown

  • JRGarland
    JRGarland10 months ago

    Awesome!!

  • Thank you so much JR!

    – Barbara Brown

  • Jordan Miscamble
    Jordan Miscamble10 months ago

    Lovely shot!

  • Thank you Jordan!

    – Barbara Brown

  • Rita  H. Ireland
    Rita H. Ireland10 months ago

    Pretty awesome!

  • Thanks so much Rita!

    – Barbara Brown

  • Josie Jackson
    Josie Jackson10 months ago

    An amazing structure, love those pillars, beautiful image Barbara :o)x

  • Thank you so much Josie!

    – Barbara Brown

  • Adam Bykowski
    Adam Bykowski10 months ago

    Cool shot. Amazing place and facts.

  • Thanks Adam!

    – Barbara Brown

  • John Velocci
    John Velocci10 months ago

  • Thank you!

    – Barbara Brown

  • John44
    John4410 months ago

    Good shot Barb
    Been there 3x myself.. amazing place

  • Thank you John! Yes, it is pretty amazing.

    – Barbara Brown

  • Elena Skvortsova
    Elena Skvortsova10 months ago

    Wonderful shot!

  • Thank you so much Elena!

    – Barbara Brown

  • lorilee
    lorilee10 months ago

    Congratulations!! Your BEAUTIFUL image is being
    FEATURED in the group, “Cover Shots!!”

  • Wonderful! Such an honor to be featured in this group! Thank you so much!

    – Barbara Brown

desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait