Blessed are the Pure in Heart
Memorial: Mary Channing Eustis, 1818-1891
The Tiffany windows in Arlington Street Church are famous for their beauty of design and execution and are believed to be the largest collection of Tiffany windows in any one church. They follow a general plan adopted in 1898 and were installed between 1898 and 1933.
The windows represent the highest development of American art in glass. Special Tiffany techniques were used, such as painting certain details and multiple layers of opalescent glass to achieve desired shades of color and Tiffany’s unique creation of folds and drapes.
The windows in the galleries, illustrative of the Beatitudes, were designed by Frederick Wilson. The windows on the main floor are from designs by different artists. All of the windows were made under the supervision of Mr. Louis Comfort Tiffany and Mr. Edward S. George.
Arlington Street Church