20% off Women’s Relaxed Fit, Chiffon Top, Scoop & Men’s Graphic, Classic, Tri-blend. Use FIGHT20

I was born 1983 in the Blue Mountains, NSW. I have always played with art for as long as I can remember.

When I was twelve we lived in England for two years. It was there that my brother (also an artist) gave me my first set of Windsor and Newton watercolours and some fabulous brushes, one of which I still have and use today.

When I was little I wanted to be a vet. I’ve always loved animals and nature. By the time I left school I thought I wanted to be a doctor; but after studying a year of Medical Science I realised it was not for me. I went and studied a Bachelor of Theology out of pure interest in that area… I followed it with a Post Graduate Diploma of Education (Secondary) and secured a great teaching job. However, a couple of years of teaching in a private school and suddenly I no longer had any time left for art. It was the absence of art that made me realise how much I need it.

In 2010 I relocated to Toowoomba, QLD, to study a Bachelor of Creative Arts at the University of Southern Queensland, majoring in Visual Arts and in Marketing. I graduated with distinction in 2013 and added a Cert IV Graphic Design. In 2014 I was awarded the Golden Key International Honours Award for Visual & Performing Arts (Painting).

I love painting, mostly with watercolour, but occassionally with acrylic too. I love drawing. I love printmaking. I love the outdoors – the bush and especially the coast. When time and money allow I can be found camping at the coast. I have a black and white cat named Indy (after Indiana Jones) who is much more like a dog…

View more at www.katherine-appleby.com

  • Joined: March 2010
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait
desktop tablet-landscape content-width tablet-portrait workstream-4-across phone-landscape phone-portrait