Off The Map pays tribute to the London Underground’s disused stations. To commemorate 150 years of the Tube, ten original artworks bring to life their history and their secrets, allowing people to discover the stories behind the Underground’s forgotten stations.
St Mary’s (1904 – 1934)
Prior to WWII, St Mary’s station closed when Aldgate East station was relocated. The distance between the two became much smaller, thus making St Mary’s obsolete.
The surface building was bombed in 1940 and since then has almost entirely disappeared.
Discover more at offthemap-london.com