Off The Map pays tribute to the London Underground’s disused stations. To commemorate 150 years of the Tube, ten original artworks bring to life their history and their secrets, allowing people to discover the stories behind the Underground’s forgotten stations.
South Kentish Town (1907 – 1924)
Originally this station was due to open as Castle Road, but was rarely used and closed in 1924. After closure it was subject to a fictional tale in 1951, when Sir John Betjeman wrote about a gentleman becoming trapped on the platform, using his last match to alert a passing train of his existence.
Today, the station remains can be seen above, as well as below ground. Look out between Camden Town and Kentish Town for a widening in the tunnel, where the platforms of the station used to be.
Discover more at offthemap-london.com