Louise Parton

Copyright Infringement - Are Your Images Being Used? by Louise Parton

Posted on December 05, 2011

[Posted this over on Facebook but thought I’d share it on Redbubble too]

This site is offering FREE wallpaper with some of our images -

http://www.musicwallpaper.org/

Type your name or perhaps “user name” into the search there and see if any of your images are being used without your permission.

Images from my Redbubble profile, Zazzle stores, website, & Facebook pages are being used over there. Really pisses me off when people do this, grr!

[Edit 6th Dec] If your images have been used, you can report it here -

http://www.hostgator.com/dmca.php [Thanks Cindy & Anita x]

Although it seems the wallpaper website has been shut down for now.

Louise x

  • clickinhistory

    clickinhistory

    Thank you Louise, it appears a few of mine are on there too, left a message threatening legal action, if they are not removed

  • Louise Parton:

    Hi clickinhistory, I’ve just added a link to my main post to report the website – Although hopefully it’s already been shut down now.

  • clickinhistory

    clickinhistory

    Just to provide you and anyone else with this information, the details about this site, can be found here

  • Cindy Schnackel

    Cindy Schnackel

    I hate to see these things and they are using two of my chicken paintings, too. I have had this happen often enough that I had to compile the pertinent info on dealing w/copyright theft into a document, to save myself time. I posted it in one of my Journals on finding and dealing with art thefts I’ve kind of drawn the line where I require they attribute the work to me, are not selling it, and are not using it in a way I find offensive or misleading. More often than not a simple cease and desist message sent to the hosting site gets it taken down, but sometimes you have to find out who is really hosting the site (in this case it appears it’s WordPress but I need to dig into it), and send a DMCA take down notice. Theoretically whoever’s hosting the site is required to remove work posted by infringers but they don’t always comply. The money value is rarely enough to make it worth suing, or even really possible to sue. I would like to personally wring the neck of these thieves, and I hope one day their stealing comes back to bite them.

  • Anita Inverarity

    Anita Inverarity

    Yeah mine too- appears there are LOTS of redbubble folks there !!! It makes me boil !!! They have been reported. Thanks for additional info clickinhistory.

  • LoreLeft27

    LoreLeft27

    omy im in there too oh my crud thank you

  • Cindy Schnackel

    Cindy Schnackel

    BTW it appears that site is hosted by WordPress.ORG, not WordPress.COM and when you go to the supposed DMCA page for Word Press it says they will not help with the .ORG ones only .COM. I have just wasted close to half an hour trying to find the correct contact for a dmca takedown notice to the .ORG version. They have all sorts of plug ins their users can download to protect their images but make it really hard to contact them when their users are stealing other people’s work. I had to go back to whois to find out who owns the domain, this is what it says: (The email mmmmmm@gmail.com was given as a contact but the page had blocked it from being routinely copied and pasted like the rest of the text…isn’t that cute.)

    Reverse Whois:
    “Matt Mullenweg” owns about236 other domains
    Email Search:
    is associated with about 226 domains
    NS History:
    2 changes on 3 unique name servers over 8 years.
    IP History:
    13 changes on 11 unique IP addresses over 7 years.
    Whois History:
    2,064 records have been archived since 2003-10-29 .
    Reverse IP:
    11 other sites hosted on this server.
    Log In or Create a FREE account to start monitoring this domain name

    DomainTools for Windows®

    Now you can access domain ownership records anytime, anywhere… right from your own desktop! Download Now>

    Domain ID:D96676750-LROR
    Domain Name:WORDPRESS.ORG
    Created On:28-Mar-2003 01:07:35 UTC
    Last Updated On:13-Oct-2011 22:20:37 UTC
    Expiration Date:28-Mar-2015 01:07:35 UTC
    Sponsoring Registrar:GoDaddy.com, Inc. (R91-LROR)
    Status:CLIENT DELETE PROHIBITED
    Status:CLIENT RENEW PROHIBITED
    Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
    Status:CLIENT UPDATE PROHIBITED
    Registrant ID:CR30561496
    Registrant Name:Matt Mullenweg
    Registrant Street1:PO Box 5446
    Registrant Street2:
    Registrant Street3:
    Registrant City:Redwood City
    Registrant State/Province:California
    Registrant Postal Code:94063
    Registrant Country:US
    Registrant Phone:1.8772738550
    Registrant Phone Ext.:
    Registrant FAX:
    Registrant FAX Ext.:
    Registrant Email:
    Admin ID:CR30561498
    Admin Name:Matt Mullenweg
    Admin Street1:PO Box 5446
    Admin Street2:
    Admin Street3:
    Admin City:Redwood City
    Admin State/Province:California
    Admin Postal Code:94063
    Admin Country:US
    Admin Phone:
    1.8772738550
    Admin Phone Ext.:
    Admin FAX:
    Admin FAX Ext.:
    Admin Email:
    Tech ID:CR30561497
    Tech Name:Matt Mullenweg
    Tech Street1:PO Box 5446
    Tech Street2:
    Tech Street3:
    Tech City:Redwood City
    Tech State/Province:California
    Tech Postal Code:94063
    Tech Country:US
    Tech Phone:+1.8772738550
    Tech Phone Ext.:
    Tech FAX:
    Tech FAX Ext.:
    Tech Email:
    Name Server:NS1.MOBIUSLTD.COM
    Name Server:NS2.MOBIUSLTD.COM
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    Name Server:
    DNSSEC:Unsigned

  • Anita Inverarity

    Anita Inverarity

    Hi Cindy- I reported it but now not sure if I have done it right- I used the link to the general DMCA report thing that someone else linked on the page.

  • Anita Inverarity

    Anita Inverarity

    It was through Hostgator.com and I’ve just received a “ticket” by email to say someone will be in touch about my complaint soon.

    …………like you I’ve spend more time than I want to on this crap……..so off to draw now and hope it gets shut down, there is cetainly enough complaints about it.

    Thank you Louise for posting about it here xxx

  • Cindy Schnackel

    Cindy Schnackel

    Hi Anita, can you post the link to where you submitted it? Not sure what you mean, I didn’t see another link given, maybe I missed something?

  • Cindy Schnackel

    Cindy Schnackel

    Anita do you mean http://www.hostgator.com/dmca.php as the link where they said to fill out a DMCA takedown? I am going to fill that out too…I missed it before, didn’t see the tiny “More” link under her post! THANKS!

  • Louise Parton:

    Hi Cindy, thanks for the additional info. I’ve added the link above to my main post now – Looks like the website has been shut down for now :) x

  • Cindy Schnackel

    Cindy Schnackel

    Anita’s link is right as far as I can tell…got two responses from them, one saying the stolen work will be removed within 48 hrs, (will need to check back on that). So disregard the WordPress.org info, it will probalby not be useful. Sorry for any confusion!

  • Mitch Labuda

    Mitch Labuda

    Not that usage is proper, etc., but the images from RB are the small preview images, 441×415 pixels, despite the claim, Redbubble is available in 640×480, 800×600, 1024×768 and 1600×1200 size format, simply not because the files are not those sizes

  • Anita Inverarity

    Anita Inverarity

    Here is my reply from Hostgator. Even if they dont shut this site down they will at least take off your images for now. I will be checking back to make sure they do. Its very important therefor to follow the link above and report it to Hostgator………..

    Hello,

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your DMCA has been accepted and processed. Please allow the standard 48 hours for a resolution. If no resolution has been reached in that time the material in question will be disabled. If there is anything we can assist you with in the meantime, please let us know.

    Best regards,

    Tyler E
    Senior Security Administrator
    HostGator.com LLC
    http://support.hostgator.com

  • Louise Parton:

    Hello lovely, thanks for the additional info – Looks like the website has been shut down for now at least, hopefully for good. Such a pain in the bum when this happens! xxx

  • LoreLeft27

    LoreLeft27

    as of now is anyone still able to get into the site its giving me an error

  • Louise Parton:

    Looks like the website has been shut down for now – not sure if this will be permanent though. I’ve added a link to my main post, if you’re images have been used you can report it there.

  • Lois  Bryan

    Lois Bryan

    I’m getting an error too …

  • Louise Parton:

    Hi Lois, it looks like the website has been shut down for now – not sure if this will be permanent though.

  • Anita Inverarity

    Anita Inverarity

    Yay- Result !!! Thanks so much for bringing to our attention :)) Have a lovely day sweetie xxx

Add Your Comment

You need to login or signup to add your comment to this work.