WHITE HORSE CLOSE-Edinburgh-Scotland
This was the site of the Royal Mews in the sixteenth century, and was later known as Davidson’s Close and Laurence Ord’s Close.
The picturesque White Horse Close acquired its current name when Ord rebuilt the existing tenement and erected an Inn, which he named in honour of Queen Mary’s white palfrey.
During 1745 the inn acted as a headquarters for Jacobite officers, while Bonnie Prince Charlie resided at Holyrood Palace.
The close was also once home to William Dick (1793-1866), who founded the Royal School of Veterinary Studies in 1823.
HDR Imagery, Comprising of 6 exposures. Tonemapped with Photomatix Pro 4
Focal Length 18mm
Shutter speeds varied