The Petit Trianon was designed by Ange-Jacques Gabriel by the order of Louis XV for his long-term mistress, Madame de Pompadour, and was constructed between 1762-1768. Madame de Pompadour died four years before its completion, and it was subsequently occupied by her successor, Madame du Barry. Upon his accession to the throne in 1774, the 20-year-old Louis XVI gave the château and its surrounding park to his 19-year-old Queen Marie Antoinette for her exclusive use and enjoyment.
A monument of extravagant simplicity, the toy village had its own thatched cottages, a dairy barn with marble walls and floors and a prize herd of Swiss cows, and the picturesque watermill where the village maidens did their washing and the village peasants ground their corn.
“The Watermill at Marie Antoinette’s Petit Trianon” has been featured in:
UNIQUE BUILDINGS OF THE WORLD/August, 2009
UNIQUE BUILDINGS OF THE WORLD/March, 2010