Marischal College, Aberdeen, in the Winter sun
The merger of Marischal College (1593, by George Keith, 5th Earl Marischal of Scotland) and King’s College (founded 1495) in 1860 created the University of Aberdeen. The building, as it is today was constructed in 1837-1847 by Aberdeen architect Archibald Simpson. It was extended in 1893-1905 by Alexander Marshall Mackenzie and became the second largest granite building in the world, after the Escorial in Spain.
In recent years, it was only partly used by the University; it is leased out to Aberdeen City Council. Newer plans of refurbishment will (unfortunately) only leave the facade intact, behind of which a completely new building will be erected.
Featured in “Heritage in Stone” 08/03/2010
Featured in “Unique Buildings of the World” 14/07/2010