in Canon DSLR 14-06-2013
in A Place To Call Home 15-06-2013
Camera: Canon EOS 50D, Lens: @ 20mm, ISO: 100, Aperture: f5.6, Shutter: 1/250
White Horse Close is an enclosed courtyard off the Canongate at the foot of the Royal Mile at the eastern end of the Old Town of Edinburgh, Scotland. This was the site of the Royal Mews in the sixteenth century, and was later known as ’Davidson’s Clos’e and ’Ord’s Close’, after after Laurence Ord, the putative builder of the 17th-century inn at its northern end. The picturesque Close acquired its current name when Ord rebuilt the existing tenement and erected an Inn, which he named the ‘White Horse Inn’ in honour of Queen Mary’s favourite white palfrey that was stabled here. The inn was the departure point for the stagecoaches that ran between Edinburgh, Newcastle and London in the 18th century. Five arches on the Calton Road side of the building (previously known as the North Back of the Canongate) indicate the former existence of an undercroft which contained the inn’s stables, smithy and coach houses. These were accessed from the rear of the building at a considerably lower ground level compared with the courtyard of the close. A small descending flight of steps and narrow pend still connects the courtyard with the rear of the inn building. Tradition maintains that Jacobite officers were billeted in the close during Bonnie Prince Cahrlie’s occupation of nearby Holyrood Palace during the Jacobite Rebellion of 1745. A wall plaque inside the close also records it as the birthplace in 1793 of William Dick, son of a farrier, who founded the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies in 1823.