"Connect with Facebook" from RB has changed, and not for the better

I don’t know how many people actually use Redbubble’s “Connect with Facebook” function (found under one’s Account Details), but it was working well for me. I had it set to post any new images of mine to my Facebook Wall, where they were noticed and gathered Likes and Comments (and some sales).

That was true until several days ago, when it seems that Facebook decided to change the way the connection works. Instead of being posted in the large Timeline area of one’s Wall and being accompanied by part of the image description, the new images are now squeezed into a smaller area on the right under the heading “Activity, Recent” – and I do mean SMALL, an area that allows only part of the title and artist name to show and no description at all. Worse yet, “Activity” items roll off the page and out of sight much more quickly than do Timeline entries. Also, the “Buy now” link is gone.

This is a change for the worse. I have three recent RB images that have gone to the small “Activity” area. Only one still shows on the page. Three images: 1 Like, 1 Comment – period – and that was from my sister! None of my usual friends or followers seem to have noticed the images, and I’m not surprised, as they are nearly hidden.

I’m sure I could complain to Facebook (assuming I can find a feedback link), but I doubt they care in the least. Redbubble can’t control what Facebook does with the link that’s handed over. I may have to start doing a separate, direct share to Facebook from within each image as I upload and see if that gets me better results.

Has anyone else noticed this change?

Journal Comments

  • Ann  Warrenton
  • Celeste Mookherjee
  • © Pauline Wherrell
  • Celeste Mookherjee
  • Teresa Pople
  • Celeste Mookherjee
  • KatMagic Photography
  • Celeste Mookherjee
  • Cindy Schnackel
  • Celeste Mookherjee
  • Cindy Schnackel
  • Cindy Schnackel
  • Celeste Mookherjee
  • Robert Worth
  • Celeste Mookherjee