Phil took this shot from Fort Scratchley using his 50-500 mm lens.
Nobbys headland is the symbol of Newcastle and the lighthouse has for years provided a safe beacon for the many ships who sail this coastline and enter the port of Newcastle. Initially Nobbys was an island and it is believed that Captain Cook and the HMS Endeavour sailed past this rocky outcrop in the 1700s and although he documented on 10th May 1770 that he observed the island, it provided not enough interest for him to explore further. Even though it is believed that other Europeans visited the area, credit for its discovery was given to Lt John Shortland in 1797. Shortland came across Nobbys and its river, the Hunter River (also known as the Coal River), whilst searching for escaped convicts from Botany Bay. On the 9th September 1797 he explored Nobbys Island and its river and drew up the first maps of the area. There is a long history associated with this headland that included a convict settlement, a major trading port and later to become Australia’s major steel making centre. Things have changed in later years and the City of Newcastle and the Hunter region is now a major tourist attraction, boasting beautiful sandy beaches as far as the eye can sea, wineries, mountains, rivers, National Parks, Lakes and forested areas. The city has been struggling since the closure of the major industries but still remains an important coal export centre and is undergoing a huge rejuvenation. The earthquake of 28 December 1989 resulted in a major rebuild of many areas of the city that continues today as it feels its way into its new evolving future.