A nice group of even line Deeargee wethers outside the shearing shed.
The Deeargee super fine Stud flock was founded
in 1971. Introductions have been made from
Cromarty, Nerstane, Avington, Yalgoo, Alfoxton
and Yarrawonga. The Deeargee Poll Stud was
registered in 2005.
Deeargee also runs a profitable commercial
merino breeding enterprise joining over 5,000
ewes, all to merino rams. Managing a Stud in
conjunction with the commercial flock has given
us focus to breed robust easy care sheep that
are suitable for a range of environments. Wool
production averaged 16.97 microns and $13.71/kg
(all lines) in 2008-09.
Deeargee Woolshed is on the Northern Tablelands of New South Wales, Australia.
A short drive, 11km east of Uralla along Tourist Drive 19, brings you to the picturesque, Boston Ivy covered, Gostwyck Chapel and the unique woolshed at Deeargee.
Gostwyck, one of the earliest squatting runs in New England, originally extended from the outskirts of Armidale and included the area south and east of Uralla as far as Salisbury Plains. Henry Gostwyck Cory obtained a holding of 80,000 acres, which he settled in 1832 and named Gostwyck.
In 1834, Cory sold his grazing rights to William Dangar, who subsequently sold them to his brother Henry Dangar. Henry Dangar had been an Assistant Government Surveyor under John Oxley and had been responsible for the survey of Newcastle and much of the Hunter Valley.
In 1831 Henry Dangar retired from surveying to concentrate on his pastoral and business interests and lived on his Singleton property named Neotsfield. In 1845 he was elected to the Legislative Council and from 1856 he lived in retirement in Sydney, where he died in 1861.
Later Gostwyck was managed by Arthur Palmer, who became Premier of Queensland between 1870 and 1874. After WWI the government reclaimed some of Gostwyck for Soldier Settlement blocks and again after WWII. By 1970 only 13,000 acres remained of the original holding and this was divided between the two grand daughters of Henry Dangar – 6,500 acres each.
The Western side, or homestead area, retained the name of Gostwyck, whilst the eastern side on which stands the historic Woolshed, was called Deeargee. This name is derived from the old Gostwyck wool brand, DRG, which in turn stood for Dangar, Gostwyck. Deeargee Woolshed has a most unusual octagonal design and is registered with the National Trust as a building of significance. The original shed was built in 1861 near the same site but was destroyed by fire. The current Woolshed was re-built and extended in 1872 and is still fully operational
It is also one of the oldest and largest sheds in Australia, erected on brick pillars and with a three-tier roof with a clerestory of glass ventilators allowed shearers to work in a well lit and ventilated environment.
These days the Gostwyck and Deeargee properties are known for the production of some of the finest wool in Australia.
Information from the Uralla Visitor Information Centre site
Phone: +61 2 6778 4496 – Fax: +61 2 6778 4654 – Email: email@example.com – Web: www.uralla.com
RedBubbler kitsumma (http://www.redbubble.com/people/kitsmumma) has some excellent shots taken of shearing in progress inside the shed from August 2010.
Canon 1DsMkII & 24-105 zoom