Uncommon Materials to draw or paint with

Do you paint with acrylics and salt? Watercolours and red wine? Tea and pencils? Inks and lemon? Then this is the right place for you!

Painting with... wax

Ina Mar Ina Mar 176 posts

Share your experiences about wax painting!

leunig leunig 445 posts

I will give it a try and get back to you

© Angela L Walker © Angela L Walker 870 posts
Hi All,

I started painting with wax in January of this year; before I used wax only as an adhesive in collage work and melted crayons whenever I wanted to add color. I like the results so much, I started studying various ways to actually paint using pigmented wax. It is more than a notion, but well worth the work in my mind. I use a pancake griddle and/or the Ranger Melting Pot to liquidfy my wax and then paint with it over drawings, etc.

Please don’t hesitate to ask me any questions about encaustic painting or how to use it in various moderations… Of course, I’m still learning but I’m willing to share what I’ve learned with fellow artists.

BTW: True encaustic painting come with a serious warning on having proper ventilation: I slowed down my encaustic painting significantly after reading all the warnings… yet, I still open my patio doors and dabble here and there with this wonderful medium/method of painting.

Angela, thank you for sharing your know-how! I have been reading your procedure here as well as in your artwork descriptions with big wide eyes!

Here is a collection of artworks using wax or bees wax, most belonging to our “Uncommon Materials” Group. I can’t help noticing that they all have a very bright colored appearance… Enjoy!

Jesus
by RealPainter
(not in the group)
The Cavern
by Richard Tuvey
Magical Mystery Tour
by Richard Tuvey
The Rock Face
by Richard Tuvey
Outback landscape
by Richard Tuvey
Abstract expression 8
by Richard Tuvey
Poem about the sun
by John Douglas
(not in the group)
The inspector of tides
by John Douglas
(not in the group)
Maquette For ‘Meat Mouth’