[FORMAL CRITIQUE] TAKEN ASHORE

Steve Cowell Steve Cowell 38 posts

Canon Digital Rebel
ISO 100
f 3.5
1/200

Jason Kiely Jason Kiely 97 posts

hi Steve,
I’m a newbie, but I’ll give my two cents( I’m only at this lark 3 months).
Tis a lovely shot, but I’d have straightened the horizon or cropped the far bank. The boat is really cool subject, if you used a long exposure to smooth out the ripples it might have made the focus on the boat stronger. Hindsight is a wonderful thing, I just wish I’d remember these things myself when I’m out.

rickvohra rickvohra 37 posts

Hi Steve,

I really like the composition, well done there! In addition I can suggest a few things:

- If possible try to retake this shot with the horizon leveled.
- I would also try a larger aperture (say around f/8 to f/11) to get a wide depth of field.
- Long exposure would look cool as it’ll give a sort of ghostly feel to the image, so see if you can get your hands on a natural density filter or wait till its a bit dark :) (you will need a tripod though).

Cheers!
Rick

John Peel John Peel 183 posts

Gday Steve

If you have the oppurtunity to reshoot (at the same time of day) try using a fill flash or even a reflector to bounce a bit more light on your main subject……the boat. Shooting into the sun is tricky without the use of either of those two tools.

The horizon looks OK to me, it suggests a bend in the river……..but your foreground subject matter is just too dim.

Hope this helps.

Cheers
John

Cool, thanks all. Great suggestions.

BYRON BYRON 12475 posts

F I R S T – I M P R E S S I O N S:

E Q U I P M E N T

Brand / Manufacturer: CANON

Model: DIGITAL REBEL

Lens: NOT SPECIFIED

S E T T I N G S

Aperture / F-Stop: f3.5

Shutter Speed: 1/200sec

ISO/ASA: 100

Focal Length: NOT SPECIFIED

T E C H N I C A L

Exposure: Predominantly over-exposed. But some areas are under-exposed