Elena Oleniuc, Vic King, Debbie Shiff --- May 25th, 2010

Mary Sedici Mary Sedici 6151 posts

Work Chosen as BEST IN SHOW- May 25st 2010

Ritual, by Elena Oleniuc
Acrylic on Canson paper
32×38cm

Elena Oleniuc — Brasov, Romania

Zulu warrior maiden, by Viv King

portrait done in a workshop of a beautiful African maiden. When I took it home to work on it I fancied I saw into her past and saw some Zulu warriors with shields.

Viv King --Cape Town, South Africa
I paint because I love it. Plain and simple!
I love light and colour. These two things inform my work. I am largely self-taught but have studied painting and drawing with various teachers over the years since I began to take art-making seriously after the birth of my children. When my eyes “opened” I have been consistently trying to capture and express that light in any way that inspires me, whether it is using oil/canvas (my preferred medium) or charcoal and graphite on any surface I can lay my hands on.
Recently I was asked to participate in an international project, “Landfill art” , creating art from abandoned car hubcaps.(http://www.landfillart.org)

Live in the moment for that is all we have.

Nelson Rholihlahla Mandela, by Debbie Schiff
Watercolour on 300gsm Aqua watercolour paper and w/n paints.

Son of Africa, the international symbol for hope, love for life, people and humility, without animosity you unselfishly & silently fought for your principles. You sacrificed the best years of your life so that all South Africans could celebrate the glory of democracy. You are a man among men, respected and admired the world over.

Thank You Madiba

Debbie Schiff - Johannesburg, South Africa
live in South Africa and share a deep love for the ‘African bush’, wide open spaces and wild animals.
Creativity is a gift I was blessed with.I have not always utilised it to my fullest potential, but recently I have started taking it a little more seriously.