25% off lightweight hoodies? Heavy. Use HOODSRGOOD.

Designers United

Welcome to Designers United – a place for all the designers here on RedBubble to showcase their work and meet like-minded individuals.

AWARD School or AFA Adschool?

thatkellychic thatkellychic 20 posts

Hey everyone,

I’m after some advice. I’m interested in getting into the graphic design/advertising industry and i’m wondering which course would be more beneficial for me? AWARD school or AFA Adschool? i am an absolute beginner. no experience whatsoever.

Has anyone done the AWARD school course? was it hard to get into?

Any comments would be apprecitated.

Thanks. Kel.

Natalie Tyler Natalie Tyler 1493 posts

Hi Kel. I studied Creative Advertising a bazillion years ago in Melbourne at RMIT. The Award School was always seen as being pretty amazing. From the experience of hawking my folio around after graduating, creative directors and senior art directors are less interested in where you studied and more interested in your thoughts and ideas. I’d apply for both … just to make sure I had options but if you’re lucky enough to get an offer from both then I guess you want to be prepared to make a good choice! I think the choice should be more about what you can get out of the course and what you can learn than what you can put in your covering letter when you apply for jobs. So a couple of tips: